Campus Governing Bodies

The Student Government Association is the highest governing body for students at Texas A&M University-Kingsville. It makes recommendations to the university administration for improving student life. The student government is composed of the executive, legislative and judicial branches. The student body elects the President, Vice-President and the Senators during a general student election held each spring. The Dean of Students or his/her designee advises the SGA.

The Faculty Senate, established by the Constitution of the General Faculty, is a body of faculty members elected from the undergraduate colleges and the library. The Faculty Senate is an advisory body to the President regarding educational policies and noncurriculum matters of the university.

The Staff Council was created in 1990  to promote a positive, collaborative work environment via assessment, prioritization, and communication of staff needs to achieve the University's strategic goals. This Council represents Texas A&M University-Kingsville staff and reports directly to the University President.